Bull! Not bull.
    About | Home | Blog | Gallery | Archive | Bibliography | Trading | Elliott Wave | Commodity Charts | Subscribe/Contact | Search Site

Stupid, Profitable Wars

Democrats are no better than Republicans when it comes to their record on war. As history shows, war is a profitable game to the powers that be, and neither party expresses the will of the people. Common people around the world - whether in Iraq, Iran, Israel, Lebanon or the United States - do not want war.

There is no separation between business and government anywhere in the world, and WAR IS GOOD BUSINESS. In fact, it is one of the most profitable businesses around. If you don't think so, just check the defense industry index since the start of the war in 2003:

You could have made 3X your money, if your conscience allowed it.

But conscience is apparently no problem for defense industry CEOs:
There is no evidence of a contractor having a soul in the 13th annual Executive Excess CEO survey by the Institute for Policy Studies, a progressive think tank, and the Boston-based United for a Fair Economy. The report found that 34 defense CEOs have been paid nearly $1 billion since the Sept. 11, 2001, terrorist attacks.

As soldiers have died in displaying personal patriotism, the pay gap between soldiers and defense CEOs has exploded. Before 9/11, the gap between CEOs of publicly traded companies and army privates was already a galling 190 to 1. Today, it is 308 to 1. The average army private makes $25,000 a year. The average defense CEO makes $7.7 million.
I hope all of our brave soldiers out in the field don't take it personally. As the Godfather would certainly say: It's just business, nothing personal. But making all that money does have a cost. Take a look at the wars by the numbers:

1957 - 19751991* - present
Total Deaths: 2-4 million (est)Total Deaths: 100 - 200,000 (est)
American Deaths: 58,209American Deaths: 2,600+
*Many forget, or don't know, or don't care that the U.S. continued with regular bombing raids on targets across Iraq throughout the 1990's under the elder President Bush and Clinton. Link: US Bombing Watch And it was Clinton who signed the "Iraq Liberation Act."

Not much has changed since 1935, when Smedly Butler penned his book, War is a Racket! It always was - always will be. The 2002 Iraq War vote got overwhelming support from both Republicans and Democrats. These are the brave ones who voted AGAINST it:

House (133 Members - 126 Dems, 6 Republicans, 1 Independent)

Neil Abercrombie (D-Hawaii), Tom Allen (D-Maine), Joe Baca (D-California), Brian Baird (D-Washington), John Baldacci (D-Maine, now governor of Maine), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisconsin), Gresham Barrett (R-South Carolina), Xavier Becerra (D-California), Earl Blumenauer (D-Oregon), David Bonior (D-Michigan, retired from office), Robert Brady (D-Pennsylvania), Corinne Brown (D-Florida), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio)

Lois Capps (D-California), Michael Capuano (D-Massachusetts), Benjamin Cardin (D-Maryland), Julia Carson (D-Indiana), William Clay, Jr. (D-Missouri), Eva Clayton (D-North Carolina, retired from office), James Clyburn (D-South Carolina), Gary Condit (D-California, retired from office), John Conyers, Jr. (D-Michigan), Jerry Costello (D-Illinois), William Coyne (D-Pennsylvania, retired from office), Elijah Cummings (D-Maryland),

Susan Davis (D-California), Danny Davis (D-Illinois), Peter DeFazio (D-Oregon), Diana DeGette (D-Colorado), Bill Delahunt (D-Massachusetts), Rosa DeLauro (D-Connecticut), John Dingell (D-Michigan), Lloyd Doggett (D-Texas), Mike Doyle (D-Pennsylvania), John Duncan, Jr. (R-Tennessee),

Anna Eshoo (D-California), Lane Evans (D-Illinois), Sam Farr (D-California), Chaka Fattah (D-Pennsylvania), Bob Filner (D-California), Barney Frank (D-Massachusetts), Charles Gonzalez (D-Texas), Luis Gutierrez (D-Illinois),

Alice Hastings (D-Florida), Earl Hilliard (D-Alabama, retired from office), Maurice Hinchey (D-New York), Ruben Hinojosa (D-Texas), Rush Holt (D-New Jersey), Mike Honda (D-California), Darlene Hooley (D-Oregon), John Hostettler (R-Indiana), Amo Houghton (R-New York, retired from office), Jay Inslee (D-Washington),

Jesse Jackson, Jr. (D-Illinois), Sheila Jackson-Lee (D-Texas), Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-Texas), Stephanie Tubbs Jones (D-Ohio), Marcy Kaptur (D-Ohio), Dale Kildee (D-Michigan), Carolyn Cheeks Kilpatrick (D-Michigan), Jerry Kleczka (D-Wisconsin, retired from office), Dennis Kucinich (D-Ohio),

John LaFalce (D-New York), James Langevin (D-Rhode Island), Rick Larsen (D-Washington), John Larson (D-Connecticut), Jim Leach (R-Iowa), Barbara Lee (D-California), Sandy Levin (D-Michigan), John Lewis (D-Georgia), Bill Lipinski (D-Illinois,retired from office), Zoe Lofgren (D-California),

James Maloney (D-Connecticut, retired from office), The late Robert Matsui (D-California), Karen McCarthy (D-Missouri, retired from office), Betty McCollum (D-Minnesota), Jim McDermott-D-Washington), Jim McGovern (D-Massachusetts), Cynthia McKinney (D-Georgia), Carrie Meek (D-Florida, retired from office), Gregory Meeks (D-New York), Robert Menendez (D-New Jersey), Juanita Millender-McDonald (D-California), George Miller (D-California), Alan Mollohan (D-West Virginia), Jim Moran (D-Virginia), Connie Morella (D-Maryland),

Jerrold Nadler (D-New York), Grace Napolitano (D-California), Richard Neal (D-Massachusetts), Jim Oberstar (D-Minnesota), David Obey (D-Wisconsin), John Olver (D-Massachusetts), Major Owens (D-New York),

(D-New Jersey), Ed Pastor (D-Arizona), Ron Paul (R-Texas), Donald Payne (D-New Jersey), Nancy Pelosi (D-California), David Price (D-North Carolina), Nick Rahall (D-West Virginia), Charles Rangel (D-New York), Silvestre Reyes (D-Texas), Lynn Rivers (D-Michigan, retired from office), Ciro Rodriguez (D-Texas, retired from office), Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-California), Bobby Rush (D-Illinois),

Martin Olav Sabo (D-Minnesota), Loretta Sanchez (D-California), Bernie Sanders (I-Vermont), Thomas Sawyer (D-Ohio), Jan Schakowsky (D-Illinois), Bobby Scott (D-Virginia), Jose Serrano (D-New York), Louise Slaughter (D-New York), Vic Snyder (D-Arkansas), Hilda Solis (D-California), Pete Stark (D-California), Ted Strickland (D-Ohio), Burt Stupak (Michigan),

Mike Thompson (D-California), Bennie Thompson (D-Mississippi), John Tierney (D-Massachusetts), Edolphus Towns (D-New York), Mark Udall (D-Colorado), Tom Udall (D-New Mexico),

Nydia Velaquez (D-New York), Pete Visclosky (D-Indiana), Maxine Waters (D-California), Diane Watson (D-California), Melvin Watt (D-North Carolina), Lynn Woolsey (D-California), David Wu (D-Oregon)

Senate (22 Members - 20 Democrats, 1 Republican, 1 Independent)

Daniel Akaka (D-Hawaii) Jeff Bingaman (D-New Mexico) Barbara Boxer (D-California) Robert Byrd (D-West Virginia) Lincoln Chaffee (R-Rhode Island) Kent Conrad (D-North Dakota) Jon Corzine (D-New Jersey) Mark Dayton (D-Minnesota) Dick Durbin (D-Illinois) Russ Feingold (D-Wisconsin) Bob Graham (D-Florida) Daniel Inouye (D-Hawaii) Jim Jeffords (I-Vermont) Ted Kennedy (D-Massachusetts) Patrick Leahy (D-Vermont) Carl Levin (D-Michigan) Barbara Mikulski (D-Maryland) Patty Murray (D-Washington) Jack Reed (D-Rhode Island) Paul Sarbanes (D-Maryland) Debbie Stabenow (D-Michigan) The late Paul Wellstone (D-Minnesota) Ron Wyden (D-Oregon)

(Vote source)

Soldiers, not lawmakers have the real power, in their own hands, to stop it: See Sir! No, Sir!


As always, comments are welcome


Bull! Not bull is hosted by Dreamhost - Employee-owned hosting since 1997.
Great service and great prices